lashes and locks

February 16, 2009

As Stephen mentioned, from time to time I will share my personal experience with buying and using organic cosmetics with the intention of saving you the extra step.  We have gathered some of our information from http://www.cosmeticsdatabase.com.  This database rates cosmetic products based on the levels of toxicity in the ingredients.  Much to my dismay ALL of my make-up collection was rated between 8-10, as most everyday Target-esque make-up items are.  Alot of my cosmetics had heavy doses of the Top Ten ingredients to avoid (See our first post).  With the full intention of never wearing make-up again, I happened upon http://www.poofscloset.com and decided to try out their mascara.  It’s $14.50 + shipping and it ships rather quickly.  This may be more than what you’d like to spend on mascara, but its worth it.  I can pronounce the ingredients and I like the way it smells.  It feels clean and natural and actually makes my eyelashes appear longer.  I give it a 2 thumbs up!

To dye or not to dye….I’ve been debating this issue for quite some time.  Ideally, I’d like to go au natural, but the reality is I like my hair best when it has a little kick.  However, I don’t want to spend a fortune at a high end salon knowing that the chemicals used on my hair are HIGHLY toxic.   So I began my search and fortunately found a great British site http://www.herbatint.co.uk and (after much flip-flopping) settled on Swedish Blonde 10C.  I don’t have the best track record with home hair dye (in fact, I may have the worst), but this time was spectacular!  My darker roots have been miraculously blended in with the rest of my now Swedish Blonde hair.  It looks natural and un-treated, just the way I like it.  And to top it off, my hair is softer than ever because of Herbatint’s essential oils.  Two thumbs up!

More cosmetic reviews to come. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

