Shiitake Mushroom Log

February 16, 2009

We are attempting to grow mushrooms at home.  I purchased a shiitake mushroom log that is guaranteed to produce mushrooms.  I bought the log from Lost Creek Mushroom Farm, and they claim it should produce mushrooms every two months for up to four years!  I soaked the log in cold water and then placed it in a shaded location, as I was instructed to do, but I haven’t seen any progress–I’ll keep you updated.  In the meantime, visit this website, and be amazed by the health benefits and healing potential of shiitake mushrooms.

3 Responses to “Shiitake Mushroom Log”

  1. sara said

    mushroooms grow on logs.
    you bought a log to grow mushrooms.

    I’m having to mull this over and over in my head…”so, y’all, I bought a mushroom log!”

    weirdos. 😉

  2. mr.eggsandsoup said

    It’s a wonderful relationship, really. The log sits in a dark corner, and with little maintenance, it produces tasty and very healthy mushrooms.

  3. sara said

    hey. I can’t argue with that.

Leave a comment