Twitter

July 16, 2009

I have never tweeted, twittered, or twat (though I have twiddled), but today is the first day I have thought, “huh, that would be good thought for twitter.” What am I talking about? Today I was briefly outraged when I saw the “0 grams trans fat per serving” label on a Krispy Kreme donuts box. No, I’m not outraged at Krispy Kreme (and, in fact, still occasionally wish I didn’t know about trans fat because of their delicious donuts) but rather at the FDA.

The FDA regulations allow for companies to straight up lie on their packaging. 0 grams trans fat per serving is a lie. To comply with that statement, there simply must be .5 grams or less per serving, so foods with actual 0 grams trans fat look the same as foods with 0 grams trans fat per serving. But they’re not. If you see “per serving” under “o grams trans fat” it’s a pretty good indication that there is trans fat.

(Okay, I realize that this has grown too long for twitter, but I tend to get a bit verbose when ranting)

We can’t place blame on any organization, since we should know what we’re eating, but as long as the FDA is going to regulate food labels, they should at least be honest.

Leave a Reply

