Getting Married

June 8, 2010

We’ve been absent in the blog world because of busy life in the real world. We’re planning a wedding, we’re doing some painting, and we’re working in the garden. This doesn’t leave much spare time.

Until we return, here are some living tips:

eat real butter
turn up your thermostat, and use fans
go outside
use ewg.org to find non-toxic sunscreen

2 Responses to “Getting Married”

  1. rachelkempf said

    Ok, so I have a milk question. A friend just sent me this message:

    Friend: “So I’m looking for your opinion right now. Are you going to give Henry cow’s milk after you get done nursing? I know this is a weird question but I have been reading a book about all the junk in our food…even milk. I am trying to cut out dairy in my own diet and I’m just not comfortable giving it to my baby. I have completely cut out meat and I would really like to be on a vegan diet but dairy always creeps in somehow.:) I would love your to hear your thought! Thanks”

    My uneducated response: “I hear from different people all over the place how bad our milk is. Leo and I drink milk (we both just LOVE milk, so we haven’t been able to stop). We drink organic milk, but from what I hear that doesn’t make much of a difference. Some of my KC friends (who are vegetarians, organic only, etc) drink raw milk. Apparently it’s the pasteurization and processing that makes milk sketchy (but doctors will tell you the opposite…that the pasteurizing is necessary…so confusing!)

    Leo’s sister used to drink soy milk and give her kids soy, but recently she has learned about soy being bad for you, so she now drinks almond milk and her kids drink almond milk (she has a 5-year-old and 3-year-old and a 10-month-old…I’ll ask her what she plans on doing when Lola is weaned).

    I’ve also heard that goats milk is wonderful for the digestive system. It is the closest milk to human milk that exists, I believe. I know a baby who had goats milk instead of formula from birth on and she is a very healthy 1.5-year-old. Now I’ve tried the goats milk that comes dried in the grocery store and it is DISGUSTING. But a lady I worked with at the folk center gave me some from her goat once and I honestly could barely tell the difference from cow’s milk. I also see it in the Mountain View Leader classifieds for sale.

    So I’m basically telling you what other people are doing, but I’m afraid I don’t have any profound insight of my own. It’s been something that I’ve been avoiding dealing with (because I love milk so much), but I need to do some research and figure out what the best route to take is. Please let me know if you learn anything new. And I’ll do the same for you.”

    Friend’s response: “I could talk about this all day because I’ve taken such an interest in what is safe…basically because of [friend’s baby] and also with my mom being sick. You spoke about Almond milk. That is what I have been drinking but I wasn’t sure if it really had the nutrients that a growing baby needed. Maybe I should try goats milk. I can just hear it know…me telling [friend’s husband] [friend’s baby] is going to start drinking goats milk…LOL (He would think I’m crazier than he had suspected)

    The book I am reading is called “Skinny Bi*ch”. Not the most wholesome book but full of good info. A girl I graduated with that is a vegan pointed me toward it. Anyway it was talking about how, among many other things, a lot of cow’s milk has ammonium perchlorate (rocket fuel). The EPA knows this and makes allowances for a “provisional daily safe dose”….of rocket fuel. Anyway they tested milk in Texas and every single test was above the “safe dose”. I almost feel like I’m gonna be giving [friend’s baby] poison. Crazy I know! I just keep telling myself kids drink it everyday. I mean I did and I’m pretty normal. The long term effects is what scares me the most. I’m so hung up on cancer since my mom has been diagnosed. It seems like more and more ppl are getting cancer and I believe so much of it has to do with our diet.”

    Sooooo oh wise Mr. and Mrs. Eggsandsoup! Do you have any ideas on what type of milk is best to give an infant after being weaned?

    P.S. I’m super excited that a fellow young Mountain Viewian parent is interested in such things! I’ve been alone for so long!!! 😉

  2. mr.eggsandsoup said

    i will first offer this disclaimer: i don’t know much about infant or toddler nutrition. all of my reading has been with the intention of understanding what adult bodies need for health. that said, i have been blown away lately by the research that indicates how beneficial, even essential, animal fats are to our health. this is not to say that veganism is inferior, but vegans certainly have to do their research to ensure they get fats and nutrients that omnivores, or even pescetarians, get through normal diet. we are raised to fear fat, but we should embrace good fats as essential to our health.

    i’m not opposed to soy milk or almond milk, but i would avoid soy milk if it’s not organic (convential soy is often processed with a chemical called hexane, which is a solvent made from crude oil–what’s it gonna be, rocket fuel or crude oil?), and i also question whether either is the best option for a small child.

    for milk options, i do suggest either raw milk (cow or goat) or organic milk. pasteurized organic milk does lack the enzymes of raw milk, but the organic standards still maintain that the cow is free of antibiotics and growth hormones. the problem with convential feed lots is that cows are fed nearly anything that will bulk them up (old candy bars, ground-up chicken pieces, their own waste), so we have no idea what extra ingredients we are getting with our milk. if you can find organic milk from pastured cows, i’d choose that, because the milk will contain more nutrients. if your friend and her husband can digest lactose, i would assume their child can too, so digesting the milk won’t really be an issue, but i recommend that they incorporate “living” foods into their diets. raw milk is a living food, but so is yogurt, sauerkraut, kombucha, etc. these foods contain myriad enzymes and bacteria that assist the gut with digestion as well as ward off pathogens. again, organic yogurt is preferable.

    here’s a link to a website advocating raw milk consumption: http://www.realmilk.com/why.html. it has some helpful information, and it really sold me on raw milk. since raw milk can be expensive and difficult to find, your friend may just consider giving her child organic milk and feeding the child yogurt.

    i love hearing about individuals who have discovered the real truth to our food system (oh man, i sound like an evangelist or cult leader). the “box” she has opened is one that is vast and can be overwhelming, but our health and future generations’ health depends on us being conscious consumers.

Leave a Reply

