Product Review: Skin

October 27, 2010

Skin is a local line of “chemical-free body care products containing only organic and natural oils” that I’ve been testing for almost 2 months now.  I discovered the line on our first visit to Nature’s Own Health Market this summer and, boy, was I excited to finally find something local AND organic.  I began with the Naked Face unscented face wash, Lemon Fresh toner, and the Rosey Plum moisturizer.  I’ve since added the Fruity Face scrub, though, I’ve only used that once.

When I use these products regularly, i.e., when I force myself to clean my face at night BEFORE falllling asleep, then my skin is great!  However, like any other product, when I fail to use it consistently, my skin fails as well. Boo. on. me.

I’m going to steal my product summary from another review because it’s pretty much perfect:

“Quality of ingredients: All products are free of harmful chemicals, parabens, synthetic dyes and fragrances, chemical preservatives, phthalates, animal products, mineral oil, and sodium lauryl sulfate. Of 20 different products listed on the Skin Deep Database, they all rate a phenomenal 0-1, lower than any other skincare line I have tried so far. The ingredients lists for all products are fairly short, which is always a good sign, as is the fact that all individual ingredients are easily recognizable: jojoba oil, olive oil, aloe vera, rosemary extract, tea tree oil, macadamia nut oil, and mango butter, to name a few. Most are certified organic.

Pluses: I love Skin’s philosophy and its commitment to providing nourishing products free of any harmful chemicals. The super-low scores on the Skin Deep Database give me confidence that I’m not putting anything harmful on my skin. Products look and feel great. And I love that I’m supporting a local company.”

Ditto. What she said.

Finally a skincare line that reflects my values without putting a strain on my wallet.

and IT’S LOCAL! woot.

Leave a Reply

